VERSEN PhD Awards 2019


The VERSEN PhD Thesis Awards have been created to encourage excellent research in the domain of Software Engineering in the Netherlands. We are again able to award the VERSEN PhD thesis awards with support of NWO and HCL Technologies

The members of the jury, Jan Friso Groote, Slinger Jansen, and Patricia Lago, used the following criteria for judging:

  • Novelty to and impact in the field promoted by VERSEN.
  • Timeliness.
  • Quality of the thesis report and associated artifacts.
  • Methodological approach and execution.

Due to the cancellation of ICT Open and the VERSEN track, we have had to cancel the VERSEN PhD Thesis Award Ceremony. That said, we are able to announce the winners in this manner. 

The Award Ceremony has been organized by NWO through and online video because of Covid-19.

The winners of the VERSEN PhD award are:

  1. dr. Moritz Beller (Technical University Delft) with the thesis "An Empirical Evaluation of Feedback-Driven Software Development", supervised by Prof. dr. Andy Zaidman, dr. Georgios Gousios, and Prof. dr. Arie van Deursen.
  2. dr. Marcus Gerhold (University of Twente) with the thesis "Choice and Chance: Model-Based Testing of Stochastic Behaviour" supervised by Prof. dr. Marielle Stoelinga and Prof. dr. Jaco van de Pol.
  3. dr. Vincent Bloemen (University of Twente) with the thesis "Strong Connectivity and Shortest Paths for Checking Models" supervised by Prof. dr. Jaco van de Pol and Prod. dr. Wil van der Aalst.

We want to congratulate the winners and thank their supervisors for submitting their excellent theses.