Winners VERSEN MSc Thesis Award


  • 1st place: Lukas Miedema, University of Twente
    • QuickInterp - JIT-like performance in a cross-platform cross-CPU way (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Marieke Huisman, Tom van Dijk, Andre Kokkeler
  • 2nd place: Taico Aerts, Delft University of Technology
    • Incrementalizing Statix (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Eelco Visser, Hendrik van Antwerpen
  • 3rd place - A: Katerina Chinnappan, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
    • Mining Green Tactics For Energy-Efficient And Energy-Aware Robotics Software (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Ivano Malavolta, Patricia Lago
  • 3rd place - B: Jakob Löhnertz, Universiteit van Amsterdam
    • Toward automatic decomposition of monolithic software into microservices (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Ana Oprescu, Stephan Schroevers


  • 1st place: Nathan Cassee, TU/e
    • The impact of continuous integration on open-source code reviews: how increasing automation changes software engineering practices (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Dr. Alexander Serebrenik, Prof. dr. Mark van den Brand
  • 2nd place: Johri van Eerd, TU/e
    • Parallel term rewriting on GPUs (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Prof. dr. ir. Jan Friso Groote, Dr. ing. Anton Wijs, Dr. Pieter Hijma


  • 1st place: Djurre van der Wal, University of Twente
    • Translating AWN networks to the mCRL2 model-checker (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Prof. dr. Jaco van de Pol, Dr. Peter Höfner, Dr. Rob van Glabbeek
  • 2nd place: Jan-Jelle Kester, University of Twente
    • CheckMerge: A System for Risk Assessment of Code Merges (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Prof. dr. Marieke Huisman, Dr. Ansgar Fehnker
  • 3rd place: Lieuwe Vinkhuijzen, Leiden University
    • A Quantum Polynomial Hierarchy and a Simple Proof of Vyalyi’s Theorem (pdf)
    • Supervisors: Dr. André Deutz